A new memoir from George M. Johnson, the New York Times bestselling author of All Boys Aren't Blue that celebrates Black boyhood and brotherhood in all its glory

Product Code: 9067
ISBN: 9780759554634
Format: Paperback / softback
Publisher: Litlle, Brown Young Readers
Pages: 256
Published Date: 01/03/2023
Availability:In stock
Price: $11.99

This is the vibrant story of George, Garrett, Rall, and Rasul — four children raised by Nanny, their fiercely devoted grandmother. The boys hold one another close through early brushes with racism, memorable experiences at the family barbershop, and first loves and losses. And with Nanny at their center, they are never broken.

George M. Johnson captures the unique experience of growing up as a Black boy in America through rich family stories that explore themes of vulnerability, sacrifice, and culture.

Complete with touching letters from the grandchildren to their beloved matriarch and a full color photo insert, this heartwarming and heartbreaking memoir is destined to become a modern classic of emerging adulthood.

Ages 12 and up.

Bookmark and Share

Introduction, “All shut eyes ain’t sleep.”

Chapter 1 My Cousins. My Brothers
Chapter 2 Saturdaze
Lil’ Rall to Nanny
Chapter 3 They Both Did It
Chapter 4 You’ll Shoot Your Eye Out
Chapter 5 Barbershop Talk
Justice’s Letter to Nanny
Chapter 6 911, What’s Your Emergency?
Rasul to Nanny
Chapter 7 Did We Kill Matt?
Matt to Nanny
Chapter 8 New Home, New Beginnings
Garrett to Nanny (Spoken at Her Funeral)
Chapter 9 What Happened to the Yams?
Chapter 10 Wedding Bells and Brawls
Chapter 11 Boyz to Men
Chapter 12 All Good Things Must Come to an End
Chapter 13 Amazing Grace
Kennedy to Nanny
Chapter 14 We Are Not Broken

Be the first to submit a review on this product!
Review and Rate this Item

You might also be interested in: