A trusted grief expert shares advice on how to navigate the loss of a loved one in this incisive and compassionate guide: “calm, lucid prose… humanizing exploration of coping with the life-changing tides of loss” (Kirkus Reviews).

Product Code: 9226
ISBN: 9780306926037
Format: Paperback / softback
Publisher: Grand Central
Pages: 192
Published Date: 10/17/2023
Availability:In stock
Price: $18.99

In Grief is Love, author Marisa Renee Lee reveals that healing does not mean moving on after losing a loved one—healing means learning to acknowledge and create space for your grief. It is about learning to love the one you lost with the same depth, passion, joy, and commitment you did when they were alive, perhaps even more. She guides you through the pain of grief—whether you’ve lost the person recently or long ago—and shows you what it looks like to honor your loss on your unique terms, and debunks the idea of a grief stages or timelines. Grief is Love is about making space for the transformation that a significant loss requires.

In beautiful, compassionate prose, Lee elegantly offers wisdom about what it means to authentically and defiantly claim space for grief’s complicated feelings and emotions. And Lee is no stranger to grief herself, she shares her journey after losing her mother, a pregnancy, and, most recently, a cousin to the COVID-19 pandemic. These losses transformed her life and led her to question what grief really is and what healing actually looks like. In this book, she also explores the unique impact of grief on Black people and reveals the key factors that proper healing requires: permission, care, feeling, grace and more.

The transformation we each undergo after loss is the indelible imprint of the people we love on our lives, which is the true definition of legacy. At its core, Grief is Love explores what comes after death, and shows us that if we are able to own and honor what we’ve lost, we can experience a beautiful and joyful life in the midst of grief.

Bookmark and Share

1: …Permission
2: Safety….
3: …Feel
4: Ask…
5: …Grace
6: Intimacy…
7: …Care
8: And…
9: …Legacy
10: Love…

“Grief Is Love is, in a way, a call to action, but more so a call to compassion.” ?Shelf Awareness

"Lee is refreshingly direct as she explores the overwhelming emotions she has experienced since the death of her mother. [Lee] made me feel less alone in the world and, well, a little less melancholic. And maybe a little more melancholic, too." ?Vulture

“With calm, lucid prose… [a] humanizing exploration of coping with the life-changing tides of loss.”?Kirkus

“Clearly written and accessible to many readers, this book adds a leader's personal voice to the growing body of work inviting us to grieve better.” ?Booklist

Grief is Love, Lee examines a different path; how to make room for your grief, honour your loss, and continue experiencing the love you felt for the person while they were alive. Drawing on her own experiences of grief, Lee gives a frank and sensitive view on how to process and transform your feelings.”?Book Riot

Be the first to submit a review on this product!
Review and Rate this Item

You might also be interested in: